Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart:
Divertimento No. 13 for 2 oboes, 2 bassoons & 2 horns in F major, K. 253 (with Score)
Composed: 1776
Performance: Bläser der Berliner Philharmoniker

00:00 1. Thema mit variationen (F major)
09:25 2. Menuetto e Trio (F major – B-flat major)
12:47 3. Allegto assai (F major)

Completed in August 1776, this masterful gem features pairs of oboes, horns, and bassoons, not an unusual combination for Mozart, however, since he composed five other works scored for that same instrumentation around that time (K. 213, 240, 252, 270, and 289). This Divertimento in F major is unusual, though, in other respects: cast in three movements, it opens with a set of variations (one of only three such examples of a variations movement appearing as the leadoff panel in Mozart’s oeuvre), and the remaining two movements together are only about half the length of the eight-minute first. The main theme in the Andante opening panel is bright and livelier than its tempo marking would normally suggest. Oboes dominate the writing, generally sounding playful, especially in the first variation, where the tempo increases and the music takes on a more animated manner. The ensuing variation is moderately paced but busy in its wealth of detail and sunny character. The third variation is also upbeat, but quite lively, too, the oboes continuing in primary roles. The ensuing variant has a stately, almost chugging quality in its pacing, while the slow fifth variation is dreamy and lovely in its mellow scoring. The piece concludes with a chipper march-like rendition of the theme. A graceful minuet makes up the second movement, while the finale is a deliciously effervescent Allegro assai. (https://www.allmusic.com/composition/divertimento-no-13-for-2-oboes-2-horns-2-bassoons-in-f-major-k-253-mc0002358205)