Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart:
Divertimento No. 17 for 2 horns & strings in D major, K. 334/320b (with Score)
Composed: 1779-80
Conductor: Herbert von Karajan
Orchestra: Berliner Philharmoniker

00:00 1. Allegro (D major)
07:07 2. Thema mit Variationen: Andante (D minor)
15:50 3. Menuetto – Trio (D major – G major)
21:45 4. Adagio (A major)
29:41 5. Menuetto – Trio I – Trio II (D major – D minor – B minor)
39:12 6. Rondo: Allegro (D major)

Divertimento No. 17 in D major, K. 334/320b was composed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart between 1779 and 1780 and was probably for commemorating the graduation of a close friend of Mozart’s, Georg Sigismund Robinig, from his law studies at the University of Salzburg in 1780.

The third movement (the first Menuetto) from the divertimento remains so popular that it is often referred to as Mozart’s Minuet, although this is clearly not the only minuet by Mozart. An excerpt from this movement was used in the animated film Yellow Submarine (1968) when the string quartet was being annihilated by the Blue Meanies.